Road Trip

Last weekend, I took the 54 on a road-trip from my house to Fredericksburg, TX for the 2016 ’54 Convention.

It was a 5 hour trip each way and I was a bit nervous to say the least. This was the first time I’d taken the car out of the local area. A breakdown within 10 miles of my house is one thing but a breakdown 4+ hours away on a busy highway would’ve been something entirely different.

I’m pleased to say that the car handled flawlessly without even a minor hiccup.

There are stretches of Hwy 290 between Houston and Austin that have a 75mph speed limit and I ran the 54 at that limit for more than an hour. I averaged around 23mpg which is good, but I think I can do even better with a smaller carburetor (I think the 600cfm Edelbrock I’m running is too big).

Here’s a video taken on day two of the convention. My car appears at around 1:18 in the video.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment