New & Improved Shift Linkage

The new exhaust downpipes were rubbing on the shift linkage so I fabbed up a new one.  I used 1/4″ stainless rod this time instead of 1/4″ all-thread (which didn’t look very good). And instead of using 2 nuts on each end, I got creative and pressed brake line fittings on for one side and used a cotter pin on the other side.

The brake fitting won’t walk around the bent corner of the rod whereas the washer would. It also perfectly locates the washer right where it needs to be. Finally, I wanted the washers to be free to spin on the rod so I needed them to butt up against something that wouldn’t interfere with their ability to do so.

On some OEM linkages, I’ve seen a divot or a bump pressed into the rod that accomplishes essentially the same thing.

I’m sure there are any number of ways to achieve this but I have a whole drawer full of misc fittings and I love making things work with what I have on hand, especially when it works well.

For what it’s worth, I had to drill out the inside of the fitting ever so slightly to where it only slid down the rod with some effort.

It looks better and works better. I’m pleased. Here’s a few photos.

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

 

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment